Theranos

Lately, I have been on the Audible train. I have been sticking to biographies and try to only listen while I am in the car driving. My first ones have been two books by comedian Heather McDonald, biographies of Busy Phillips and Sally Field, Ninety Nine Glimpses of Princess Margaret, Sisters First by the Bush twins, The Fabulous Bouvier Sisters and then before my London trip, I listened to 25 hours about the Queen Mother. Now I am listening to Bad Blood which is about Theranos and the crazy ride this start-up took up until its dramatic end. It is such an unbelievable story and it is hard to believe they were able to keep up the charade for as long as they did.

While I am listening to this Audible, I am trying not to google because I don’t really know the details of the ending. My timing on this book is fantastic because there is a documentary called The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley that is airing on HBO on March 18. Check out the trailer here.

Beyond the documentary, Jennifer Lawrence is signed up to play the main character Elizabeth Holmes in a movie based on the book I am listening to. That is still in production but is directed by Adam McKay who directed Vice and The Big Short. I cannot wait to see both of them!

Elizabeth modeled herself after Steve Jobs in many ways, wanting Theranos to have similarities with Apple and even started religiously wearing black turtlenecks like Steve. The whole story is fascinating!!!!! Read Bad Blood so we can talk about it!

XOXO, KP

Leave a comment